My Journey Through Classic Literature

As a new years resolution, I decided that I wanted to read as many classic novels as possible. I claim to be a reader and a book nerd, but I feel that’s not accurate. What kind of book nerd can’t hold a conversation about novels that have stood the test of time?

I also decided I wanted to start writing and utilizing my blog again, other than for school work. So, if you’re interested, I’ll be writing out my journey through reading these novels. There will more than likely be spoiler alerts, so if you plan on reading the books, you might want to hold out on reading how I feel about them.

I’m doing this because I not only want to read the novels, but I want to understand them. I want to know why they are classics, why the characters are the way they are, and what the author was intending to convey through these stories.

Here’s a list of the books I’ll be reading, in no particular order:

Wuthering Heights

A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Oliver Twist

Great Expectations

The Odyssey

Jane Eyre

The Secret Garden

Treasure Island

Little Women

The Scarlett Letter

A Tale of Two Cities

Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland

Pride and Prejudice

The Great Gatsby

1984

The Catcher in the Rye

Grapes of Wrath

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

For those who don’t know me very well, I become absorbed into the books I read. I often take on the moods and tone of the character and book. I feel that I personally know the characters. I laugh with them, grieve with them, get angry with them, fall in love with them. So it’s safe to say that I’m excited to partake in this adventure of per suing these classic novels.

Cheers!

Leave a comment

Filed under The Classics

Leave a Reply

